|
Go 
|
New 
|
Find 
|
Notify 
|
|
Reply 
|
|
Admin 
|
New PM! 
|
Cittadino
|
This something that seems to be widespread, especially in the car and motorhome market in which we have been doing a lot of looking first for a car and then a motorhome. There will be a listing with pictures and all and a price very low. Most or all the time the pictures are taken off the internet from somone eles's ad. I one case I stumbled onto the real ad. The story is always similar, the person says they are living in the UK and have to sell the vehicle because they can't use it there. They will go on to tell you that they had a buyer renig on deal and therefore will only deal with you if you send a deposit. But the deposit is sent to yourself for your protection, via Western Union to another city. Then you send the "seller" a copy of the receit so he knows you are serious. Somehow I think they can get the money you send even if not sent to them directly. In fact there is a warning on Ebay about Western Union. So as always if the deal is too good to be true it probably isn't. Another way to recognize these ads is that the phone number is usually fake and the name of the person will not be Italian. We did not fall for any of these but did do a little correspondence with one, and then just for fun checked out a couple more.
|
| |
| Posts: 2203 | Location (City & State): Belluno, Italy | Registered: 24 June 2005 |    |
|
Cittadino
|
quote: Originally posted by Justin B: This is a classic scam, often referred to as a 419, or Western Union scam. They can get the money because Western Union does not require ID to claim, only the number (Western Union is supposed to be a way to get money when you've had everything stolen, including your ID.) Scammers use it with any item under the sun. The steadfast rule should always be: never send money with Western Union, EVER, unless it is an emergency with a close friend or family member.
Wow, I've never used Western Union so I had no idea it was that easy. I just suspected that there was a way get the money using fake ID or something similar. Now I see why it is so popular a scam. It's also interesting to see that some of the ads are so ridiculous, like a motorhome that should go for 300,000 listed for 50,000. But it must work or they wouldn't keep doing it.
|
| |
| Posts: 2203 | Location (City & State): Belluno, Italy | Registered: 24 June 2005 |    |
|
 | Please Wait. Your request is being processed... |
By viewing, downloading, or otherwise using or accessing the Expat Talk Forums,
you agree to be bound by our Terms of Service
Copyright © 2004 - 2008 Cristina Fassio
info@expatsinitaly.com
Looking for something specific on this site or the forum?
If so remember, use the Google search box below.
|
|